Salsa!

Salsa!

I love salsa; I love cooking. So, when the prices of tomatoes drop in the early summer, I crank out the grill and roast up… wait. I live in an apartment. Sigh. OK, I don’t grill my salsa veggies, but here’s what I do:

Medium Heat Roasted Tomato Salsa
–6-10 Roma tomatoes
–1/2 head of garlic
–1/4 large Vidalia onion
–2-3 Jalapenos
–Juice of 1-2 limes
–Handful of cilantro
–Salt & pepper, to taste
–1 large, dried Ancho pepper; 1 dried Cascabel pepper

Preheat oven to “Broil”

Rehydrate ancho and cascabel peppers in boiling water on the stove for 10 minutes; let sit another 10.

While the chiles are rehydrating, place tomatoes, garlic, and jalapenos in a roasting pan.  Broil until tomatoes are soft and the skin blisters (or, if you prefer, until it blackens).

Remove cascabel and ancho peppers from heat.  Unless you want your salsa rather hot, remove seeds from peppers.

Slowly combine all ingredients in food processor or blender (whichever you’ve got) until you reach the desired texture.

That’s all!  It’s pretty simple to make your own salsa, and there are endless variations on it.

Tomorrow:  Tomatillos!  My favorite non-tomato object!

